Digital archive, 500 items, 3,000 images and growing

Link to (homepage) (item index) (poetry index) (manifestos index) (example view, G.L.A.D.) is a growing digital archive of flyers, photos, artwork, cartoons, letters, poems, ephemera, and other visual culture from the 1960s-90s, created by trans*, two-spirit, nonbinary, and trans-adjacent activists, organizers, and artists. The curation of this archive has been guided by hundreds of conversations and interviews with trans and queer elders, community members, archivists, and scholars. It currently focuses on 1960s-1990s North America. You can help build and shape this archive too — please contact us or submit material at or join us at one of our upcoming workshops to help curate, notate, and edit what is here, and help identify what is not!

Deep gratitude to Christian Camacho-Light, Roxana Fabius, and the membership of A.I.R. Gallery, who have provided a home base, administrative, fiscal, and moral support for this project. Endless thanks and admiration to the projects’ founding advisory committee: Che Gossett, Finn Enke, Jeanne Vaccaro, Susan Stryker, and especially to Malcolm Shanks whose mentorship, advice, coaching, and assistance with this project has been invaluable. Huge admiration to Ritu Ghiya for her incredible web design.

Thank you to Aaron Devor, Abby Bass, Ace Lehner, Aiden Bettine, AJ Lewis, Alec Butler, Alex Gilliam, Alexander L Lee, Allee Mondheim, Anderson Toone, Andy , Ariel Goldberg, Ashley Armstrong, Barrie Jean Borich, Billy Lane, Camille Lawrence, Charley Burton, Che Gossett, Chelsea Goodwin, Chris Vargas, Chris Petrone, Christina Linden, Christine Walde, Chrystos , Craig Highberger, Dallas Denny, Dan Cameron, Daniel Louis Duncan, Daria Dorosh, Darla Bjork, David France, David Harrison, Dee Farmer, Dee Dee Chamblee, Del La Grace Volcano, Dena Muller, Dionne Stallworth, Donna Kessinger, Efrain John Gonzales, Elliot Marrow, Erin Zona, Finn Enke, Frances Woods-Baugh, Gayle Rubin, Gordene MacKenzie, Harmony Hammond, Harrison Apple, Heather Dean, Ignacio Rivera, Jamison Green, Jaune Quick-to-see Smith, Jeanne Vaccaro, Jessica Xavier, Joan Jett Blakk, Joanna Rivera, Joe E. Jeffries, John Anderies, Jolene Rickard, Jonathan Thunderword, Joshua Burford, Jude Patton, Judy Grahn, Judy Greenspan, Kai Pyle, Kan Seidel, Kaspar Saxena, Kat Griefen, Kay Turner, Kelly Wooten, Kerry Downey, KJ Rawson, La’Cretia L’Amour, Lara Wilson, Laura Bailey, Lauren Berke, Leah DeVun, Leo Valdes, Linda Simpson, Loni Shibuyama, Lou McCarthy, Louis Mitchell, Lynn Ballen, Madsen Minax, Malcolm Shanks, Margo Anderson, Mariette Pathy Allen, Marisa Richmond, Marsha Botzer, Martha Wilson, matt dilling, Maureen Jolie Anderson, Max Wolf Valerio, Merrick Moses, Micah Bazant, Mike Hernandez, Minnie Bruce Pratt, Mo B. Dick, Mollie Biewald, Morgan Gwenwald, Ms. Bob Davis, Muriel Miguel, Myles McLean, Nancy Azara, Nancy Nangeroni, Os Keyes, Pat Califia, Pendra Wilson, Rachel Ryan, Rahne Alexander, Reneé Imperato, Richard LaFortune, Riki Wilchins, Rollie Matthews, Rosa von Praunheim, Rupert Raj, Sandi Salas, Sarah Calise, Saskia Scheffer, Shannon O’Neill, Sharon Day, Simon Fisher, Stephanie Crawford, Susan Stryker, Suzanne Iacenza, Tobaron Waxman, Vann Millhouse, Venus de Mars, Veronica Vera, Vickie and Sharon Baker, Wes Enos, Xiomara Niculescu, and many many others for your questions, insights, anecdotes, stories, notes, archives, and conversations that continue to shape the direction of this project. is made possible in part by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of the Office of the Governor and the New York State Legislature; by Humanities New York with support from the National Endowment for the Humanities; with public funds from Creative Engagement, a regrant program supported by the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council and administered by LMCC; and by The Puffin Foundation, Ltd.